Demo coming soon

January 10, 2008 at 2:46 am | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Happy New Year!  I realize I haven’t updated in a while, but I’ve been hard at work.  Originally my goal was to have a playable demo out by the new year, but I ran out of time… but I’m actually very close to finishing it. 

-I redid most of the first areas of the game (it no longer looks like the horizon abruptly runs into the sky)
-I redid the intro (now instead of a campfire scene, I’m shedding a little light on Achaius’ past through a series of flashbacks that culminate with the Leeble Defenders doing rounds)
-New music “Starlight” created for the introduction
-Izaya is completely finished (interior and exterior mapping, events, etc.)
-Basho and Melolune are completely mapped
-opening credits

What I still need to do for the demo:

-events for Basho (check point station)
-mapping for Debonet (so there will be guards to say “you can’t enter without a pass”)
-battles for the Melolune cave
-cutscene with Dolby
-Blue Star logo
-event/battle leading up to Melolune (right outside of Debonet)
-insert the intro music “Starlight” and “The Great World” into the intro/call wind noise/fade in and outs
-a few more pieces of music

I wanted to have new spritesets for the main characters, but I’m not sure if it’ll happen before I release the demo. That being said, the screenshots I’m going to post will be using the old sprites. 

I also need to break this terrible nocturnal habit.  For some reason, I’m not creative until the sun has set… last night I was up til past 7am working on the game, and I didn’t wake up until 2pm.  You’d think that getting 6-7 hours of sleep would leave me feeling rested, but no.  I’m sure humans were meant to be diurnal; the proof is in the way I feel when I stay up all night and wake up past noon.  How does it feel?  Crappy.  I felt like a zombie for at least 30 minutes after rolling out of bed.  Thus is the life of a contractor.  But one of my new year’s resolutions is to not live nocturnally.  After all, there are never enough hours in a day that begins at 2pm.

I felt a lot better after things got rolling however.  I taught a couple private piano lessons and had some dinner with George.  Now I’m charged and ready to work again.  Perhaps I can upload some stuff tonight…

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

