Updates

December 11, 2008 at 9:43 am | Posted in Uncategorized | 6 Comments

Well, I think it’s about time for an update! It’s been a while, but I’ve been slowly making progress on “The Blue Star” and this week I finally finished the 2nd demo. In addition to having new areas, I’ve made a ton of changes:

There’s lots of new original artwork: Several maps have been completely redone, the Leeble village has new treehouses, there are new character facesets with over 60 different expressions, etc.
Extended gameplay: This demo is on average about 4-5 hours long.
Balance: I went through all the feedback that I received, and spent a lot of time balancing battles, stats, items, etc. Aero is now stronger when she rejoins the party, there are more HP/MP restoration and save points, etc.
New original music!
There is plenty to explore: The final town in the demo has over 50 different NPCs with lots of personality and optional dialogue for those who like these sorts of things.

Anyways… if you get a chance, I’d love for you to check it out! There are still a few things that need to be changed. The menu/UI right now is only temporary; I plan to implement a customized one when the game is almost finished because I want to make sure it really matches the feel of the whole game. My friend and I will also be working on a new battle system (a Chrono Trigger style one with animated battlers, an ABS, and combo attacks), but that won’t be in-game for a little while. But besides that, things are pretty set! Feedback and comments are always appreciated πŸ™‚ Thank-you!

6 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Obviously you’ve been busy with other, more important pursuits lately οΌˆθ£εΊ­γ«γ‚Ύγƒ³γƒ“γƒΌγ‚ΊγŒοΌοΌ‰, but is Leeble Forest still in the works?

    • Hi Curtis, yes this game is definitely still in the works ^_^ I’m going to try and post some updates later on.

  2. Finished the demo within 3 hours.. Reminds me of early stages of Final Fantasy.. A great start indeed πŸ™‚

    • Aw, well thank-you, I’m so glad to hear that πŸ™‚

  3. I checked every nook and cranny in the game, and talked to every single person I could, and obtained every item in the game. Even the uselessly expensive weapons and items in that rich-people town XD. I LOVE your game, I can’t wait to see it finished!

    I did catch one bug though. Did you have a different kind of treehouse set up on version 1? Because when I leave the Leeble forest, to where the soldiers are marching around, and I walk back to the village, the the footprints follow a different path, and the treehouse has a completely different design. The trees are darker, and they look all twisty.

    When I played your game, I felt like I was 8 again, exploring across the world of Dragon Warrior, or Secret of Mana, or of course, the old fashioned final fantasy… Good times.

    • Hi Chris, thank-you so much for your comment, I’m really happy that you enjoyed the demo! I also played Secret of Mana and the Final Fantasy games when I was younger. And yes, I did have an old version of the Leeble Forest (the one with the dark twisty trees)… that was a pretty major bug, so it will definitely be fixed in time for the 3rd demo πŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

